top of page
  • Writer's pictureljkastermanslibrary_nz

Poseidon’s Academy, Sarah A. Vogler

Undoubtedly, this novel had an arduous task. Being created in the shadow of novels such as Percy Jackson (and the well-recieved spin-offs) and Harry Potter, it works to incorporate the two main features; Greek Gods, and a Boarding School. I must say, it’s done so with many qualities I admire. 

Where this novel differs from the norm, is it’s construction and world-building. Hailey is not living in a shadow-world, in hers the Greek Gods are real – albeit slaughtered years ago in a Great War between the humans and Gods (read to find more on that). As a result their powers trickled to earth, and all humans from there have had a Gods power, or a variant thereof. It immediately sets this novel away from its counter-parts where the MC is forced to hide themselves, rather in this one, Hailey chooses to limit displays of her powers in search of anonymity (she is the only one inhibiting specific powers subject to a prophecy).

I’ve noticed speculation regarding the lack of definitive diversity in the novel, and cannot help but disagree. It is the deliberate nature of not identifying the “race” of people that helps to bring this novel into higher-stakes. Too many novels lose themselves in an attempt at being diverse, pointing out the “Gay”, “Black”, “Asian” or other denomination which ‘seperate’ the person(s) from others. In this, the only thing which defines you is your power. It’s nice to be defined on attributes, rather than the stigma assigned to other aspects of ones self – as our society currently does, sore point, and point of contention I guess, I digress.

While in admiration of the plot-building, character building and development, and world-building (Academy Centric for a reason, I suppose), I found myself frustrated by some of the generic qualities amongst the characters, and the way they defied the logical paths – aka. if you think there is a conspiracy, tell someone. It’s illogical to expect to deal with a centuries old prophecy when you’re young students, some of which unable to accurately weird their powers. That being said, they are teenagers, who – reminiscent to our own world, and my younger days – are notoriously rebellious, I appreciate the authenticity that develops within the characters and the way it works to define their personal characteristics. It also shows their active development, and areas of improvement to come.

I was left with a fair-few questions (and obligingly eager for more). I look forward to our MC being developed into a more intriguing individual, and her counter-parts being worked into something more defining. Character development is seen throughout, but I love myself supporting characters who are well founded.

As an avid reader of Percy Jackson, and Harry Potter (as a typical Millenial), I was not disappointed. Left-wanting, in some aspects. But intrigued and impressed, none-the-less. I’d love to read more.

I received an ARC of this novel from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page